1 2 3


The Anime Awards!
June 7, 2009, 03:08
Filed under: Anime

Although I’m a self-proclaimed anime fan, I realise that the number of anime series I’ve completed is only a miserable 3! Like every otaku out there, I’ve spammed my to-watch list with many impressive, critically acclaimed titles like Ghost in the Shell and Neon Genesis Evangelion, but I don’t think I’ll ever get down to watching them.

My experience with cheem, sci-fi anime has been pretty bad: For Serial Experiment Lain, I mistook its last episode for the first and didn’t even realise it after I finished the entire episode! (I’m blaming this on the strange way of naming the episodes though – Layer 01, Layer 02 and so on instead of the usual Episode 1, 2, 3. I started watching from Layer 13 (the last episode) because isn’t that what we normally do – approach things from the outermost (i.e. last) layer in order to reach the core? But it actually works the opposite way. Each new episode is supposed to add a different layer of meaning to the story, until you finally get the big picture at the end. But I’ve gotten no big picture whatsoever; I’m only shrouded with more layers of incomprehension. 

So I decided to check with my trustworthy friend Wikipedia, and here’s what it says:

“Director Nakamura wanted to show the audience — and particularly viewers between 14 and 15 (!) — “the multidimensional wavelength of the existential self: the relationship between self and the world”.

“The storyline introduces such a system with the Schumann resonance, a property of the Earth’s magnetic field that theoretically allows for unhindered long distance communications.”

…Okay never mind.

 
But, looks like my list of completed anime series is going to be updated soon after all! Yay for all the accessible yet thought-provoking anime series around! Shall pretend that Monster is on this list already and present awards to all of them, since it’s hard for a lazy / picky / (recently) fatigued person like me to finish a series :-D

*Drumroll* 

Nana (shoujo / josei): Most Melodramatic & Best-Dressed Characters!
Death Note (shounen): Most Wordy! I remember all those times I had to pause just to finish reading the subtitles at the bottom. It could have gotten “Most Compelling” too if not for all those shounen genre restrictions which I dislike.
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya (seinen): Best Narrator (Kyon) & Most Eccentric! It tries (sometimes too hard?) to break out of the mould, in every way possible.

And…

Monster (seinen): Best Storytelling, Best Characters, Best Realistic Art, Best Production Values, Best… *gushes on and on*

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

